Where’s the Parteh?

18 12 2008

Got a big big big heartbeat, I think you are the sweetest thing. I wear of coat of feelings and they are loud. I’ve been having good days.

– Animal Collective, Purple Bottle

Baka sakali lang maisip mo naman. Ako’y nandito lang. Hindi mo lang alam. Matalino ka naman.

– Up Dharma Down, Oo

Why does it always end up like this?

– Tori Amos, Spring Haze

At this moment, my 30-hour partying spree finally ends. Except for four hours of sleep, it has been non-stop rush of laughing, ingesting alcohol, avoiding overeating, struggling to keep eyelids open, gift giving, joke sharing, photo taking, and spreading the season’s spirit. Just when I thought December could not become any better.

Despite tarot cards foretelling otherwise, I still feel I’m forever doomed in anything related to romance. Hello Mr. Kristian Karlo, in matters of love, you are a pathetic loser, so might as well give it up. Get real. Wake up. Smell the roses. And the coffee. And the morning scent of frying bacon and sunny-side-up eggs and corned beef and ham and all other food you said you would refrain from eating ever again but would most likely end up consuming soon anyway. The last sentence from James Joyce’s short story, Araby, is quite appropriate for tonight’s epiphanic paranoia:

Gazing up into the darkness I saw myself as a creature driven and derided by vanity; and my eyes burned with anguish and anger.

Since it’s almost Christmas, I’ll end on a hopeful note. My gift to the lovely thing responsible for all this mess: Я тебя люблю. What a bother! Privyet, sappiness, privyet.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment